2015 Michigan Hall of Fame Voting Results

The Michigan Rock and Roll Legends online Hall of Fame is proud to announce the results of the 2015 computer vote that ended on the stroke of midnight on June 1st. Adrenalin, a popular East Detroit band from the late 70’s and early 80’s, received the greatest number of votes for induction in this year’s balloting. They were followed by The Look, another successful Detroit group that has the distinction of being the very first Motor City band to appear on MTV. Third in the vote was Mark Farner, the former frontman of 2005 inductee Grand Funk Railroad. Farner was inducted this year for his long solo career. Finishing fourth in the vote was guitarist Steve Hunter who first gained attention in the band Detroit, but is best-known for his work with Lou Reed and Alice Cooper.


Runners-up receiving a substantial number of votes for the 2015 Hall of Fame included Bitter Sweet Alley, The Rockets, Marcy Levy, Cub Koda, Toby Redd, and Was (Not Was).


This year’s Honorary Inductees are Michael Erlewine and his influential blues band, the Prime Movers. The Prime Movers were also an important launching pad for the career of their former drummer, Jim “Iggy” Osterberg. Erlewine went on to found the All Music Guide, the world’s largest database of musical information.


The MRRL Hall of Fame began inducting Historical Inductees in 2014. The 2015 inductee in this category is Marv Johnson, Tamla/Motown’s first important artist. Johnson recorded nine hit singles on the Billboard Hot 100 from 1959 to 1961, but his role is often overlooked in Motown’s history.


The 2015 inductions bring the total number of artist and individuals in the MRRL online Hall of Fame to 84. A listing of inductees from 2005 through 2014 along with their biographies can be found at http://www.michiganrockandrolllegends.com/mrrl-hall-of-fame


Ten new Legendary Michigan Songs were also inducted in this year’s vote, bringing the total number of honored recordings to 100. This year’s inductees are: “Be My Lover” – Alice Cooper; “Papa Was A Rollin’ Stone” – The Temptations; “Higher Ground” – Stevie Wonder; “A Natural Woman” – Aretha Franklin; “Better Man Than I” – Terry Knight & The Pack; “Rock ‘N Roll” – Detroit featuring Mitch Ryder; “Bad Time” – Grand Funk; “Mainstreet” – Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band; “No More Mr. Nice Guy” – Alice Cooper; and “You Keep Me Hangin’ On” – The Supremes. A listing of the previous 90 Legendary Songs as well as information about each and links to videos can be found at http://www.michiganrockandrolllegends.com/legendary-michigan-songs-inductees


Thanks to all the fans of Michigan rock and roll who voted. Written material and video links concerning this year’s Hall of Fame inductees and Legendary Song inductees will appear on the MRRL site as the year progresses. http://www.michiganrockandrolllegends.com/